Halal Foods List

Written by erin clyburn
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
Halal Foods List
Pork is not considered halal. (pork meat image by Maria Brzostowska from Fotolia.com)

Halal is an Arabic word meaning permitted or lawful, the opposite of which is haram, or forbidden. When applied to food, halal means those foods that are considered permissible to eat under Islamic law. To compile a list of halal foods, you must list what is haram. Halal foods, therefore, are everything else. All foods listed as follows are not permitted under Islamic law.

Other People Are Reading


Pork is forbidden to consume, according to the Qur'an, the sacred book of Islam. Any pork byproducts are also forbidden.


Blood is not permitted, including all animal blood and foods made from blood byproducts.

Other Types of Animals

Other animals that are forbidden to be eaten include carnivorous animals (lion, fox, dog, cat, etc.), land animals without external ears (snake, lizard, etc.), birds of prey (falcon, eagle, hawk, etc.) and carrion, the carcases of dead animals.

Animals Killed Improperly

It is unlawful to eat animals that were slaughtered not in the name of Allah. The name of Allah must be pronounced over the animal prior to the slaughter. The method of slaughter is important as well; animals must be killed under a set method of ritual slaughter.


Alcohol and all other intoxicants are prohibited.

Contaminated Foods

Foods that have been contaminated by any of the foods or drinks listed previously are forbidden to be eaten.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.