A List of HEC-Recognized Universities

Written by nicole martinez Google
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

The Higher Education Commission, also known as HEC, regulates the postsecondary education institutions (colleges and universities) within Pakistan. The HEC oversees the curriculum, faculty and scholarships of national schools to ensure educational quality and development, especially technological development. The HEC recognises 128 universities in seven different regions of Pakistan.

Azad Jammu & Kashmir

The Pakistani region of Azad Jammu & Kashmir (AJK) contains four HEC-recognised universities:

Mirpur University of Science and Technology (MUST) University of Azad Jammu & Kashmir, Muzaffarabad Mohi-ud-Din Islamic University Al-Khair University

As of April 30, 2009, Al-Khair University is no longer allowed to admit new students.

Northern Areas

The Northern Areas of Pakistan have one public university, Karakurum International University, which is located in the city of Gilgit.


There are eight universities located within Balochistan. Five of the universities are located in the city of Quetta: Al-Hamd Islamic University, Bolan University of Medical & Health Sciences, University of Balochistan, Sardar Bahadur Khan Women's University and Iqra University.

Lasbela is home to Lasbela University of Agriculture, Water & Marine Science, and the final university in this region is the Balochistan University of Engineering and Technology in Khuzdar.

North-West Frontier Province

The North-West Frontier Province is one of four provinces in Pakistan, and it boasts an extensive list of universities which provide general studies or more focused education, such as the military academy. The universities within NWFP include:

Islamia College University, Peshawar Khyber Medical University University of Science & Technology Bannu University of Peshawar University of Malakand, Chakdara Sarhad University of Science & Information Technology Qurtaba University of Science & Information Technology Preston University Pakistan Military Academy NWFP University of Engineering & Technology NWFP Agriculture University Northern University Kohat University of Science & Technology Institute of Management Sciences (IMSciences) Hazara University, Dodhial Gomal University Ghulam Ishaq Khan Institute of Engineering Sciences & Technology Gandhara University City University of Science & Information Technology CECOS University of Information Technology and Emerging Sciences Frontier Women University Abasyn University


Sindh is the only region that has more private than public universities as recognised by the Higher Education Commission. There are only 13 public universities:

University of Sindh University of Karachi Sukkur Institute of Business Administration Sindh Agriculture University Shah Abdul Latif University Quaid-e-Awam University of Engineering, Science & Technology Pakistan Naval Academy NED University of Engineering & Technology Mehran University of Engineering. & Technology Liaquat University of Medical and Health Sciences Institute of Business Administration Dow University of Health Sciences Dawood College of Engineering & Technology


The capital of Pakistan, Islamabad (and a few surrounding areas), is home to 17 federal universities. Punjab actually surrounds this university region.

National Defence University Virtual University of Pakistan National University of Science and Technology Riphah International University Quaid-i-Azam University Pakistan Institute of Development Economics Pakistan Institute of Engineering Applied Sciences National University of Modern Languages National University of Computer and Emerging Sciences International Islamic University, Institute of Space Technology (IST) Foundation University Federal Urdu University of Arts, Sciences and Technology COMSATS Institute of Information Technology Bahria University Allama Iqbal Open University Air University


Punjab ties with the Sindh region for the most HEC-recognised universities; however, this region has a more equal split between public and private educational institutions. Most of the universities in this region are located in the city of Lahore:

National School of Policy University of Management & Technology University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences University of South Asia University of the Punjab University of Lahore University of Health Sciences University of Engineering & Technology University of Education University of Central Punjab The Superior College National College of Arts Minhaj University Lahore University of Management Sciences Lahore School of Economics Lahore College for Women University Kinnaird College for Women King Edward Medical University Institute of Management Sciences Imperial College of Business Studies Hajvery University Government College University Lahore Forman Christian College National College of Business Administration & Economics (NCBA&E) Beaconhouse National University

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.