DISCOVER
×

A list of gluten free fast food

Updated November 21, 2016

The insoluble component of some grains, including wheat, rye and barley, is called wheat gum, or gluten. The presence of gluten may cause allergic reactions in some people, including digestive upset, and may worsen other conditions such as coeliac disease, rheumatoid arthritis and psoriasis. A gluten-free diet includes grains such as rice, corn and buckwheat and starches like potato and tapioca. Some fast food restaurants offer gluten-free items.

Dairy Queen

Dairy Queen has several items that are gluten-free, including vanilla and chocolate soft-serve ice cream, Arctic Rush slush, and the MooLatte (but not the hazelnut flavour). Several Blizzard treats are gluten-free as well, including Reese's, Banana Split, Snickers and Strawberry flavours. Contact your local Dairy Queen for a full list of all gluten-free items or view http://www.dairyqueen.com.

Chick-fil-A

Several products at Chick-fil-A are listed as gluten-free, including the chargrilled chicken fillet, chargrilled chicken garden salad, chargrilled chicken and fruit salad, and potato fries. Visit the Chick-fil-A website at http://www.chickfila.com for a complete list of gluten-free items.

Wendy's

Wendy's restaurants offer some gluten-free items on the menu, including hamburgers, grilled chicken breast, chicken Caesar salad (without croutons) and mandarin chicken salad. View http://www.wendys.com/food/pdf/us/gluten_free_list.pdf for more information or contact your local Wendy's restaurant.

Burger King

Gluten-free items on the Burger King menu include French fries, Tendergrill garden salad (bring your own dressing to use), sodas and milk. Contact your local Burger King for more information or view http://www.bk.com for nutritional information.

Carl's Jr

The Carl's Jr menu does not have many gluten-free items, but ones that are gluten-free include the Six Dollar Lo Carb Burger and regular and chilli fries. Contact your local Carl's Jr for more information or view the company website at http://www.carlsjr.com.

McDonald's

Many items on the McDonald's menu include gluten, including fries and hash browns. Ice cream items are gluten-free, however, as are salads. (Bring your own salad dressing, and avoid the croutons.) See http://www.nutrition.mcdonalds.com or contact your local McDonald's for additional information.

Cite this Article A tool to create a citation to reference this article Cite this Article

About the Author

Meredith Jameson writes early childhood parenting and family health articles for various online publications. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in history from San Francisco State University.