List of Gluten-Containing Foods

Written by melissa cooper
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
List of Gluten-Containing Foods
Wheat (wheat image by Artur Ciba from Fotolia.com)

Whether you have a wheat allergy or wheat intolerance, which is also called coeliac disease, it is important that you avoid foods containing gluten. According to Foodintol, a website about food intolerance, 15 per cent of people are gluten intolerant. Wheat allergy is not as common as intolerance, but can result in coughing, nausea and even anaphylactic shock. As long as you remain vigilant by reading food labels and asking questions while dining out, it is easier than ever to find foods that are safe and delicious.

Other People Are Reading

Bread, Rolls and Biscuits

These basic items are fairly obvious foods that contain gluten. They can be prepared gluten-free, but unless specially noted, these items are off limits. Breads, rolls, biscuits, wheat, barley and rye are all forbidden to those avoiding foods containing gluten.

List of Gluten-Containing Foods
Bread (Bread rolls image by Tasha from Fotolia.com)

Pasta

Spaghetti, macaroni, fettuccine and most noodles are prepared using wheat. Because there is a whole world of pasta dishes, this is unfortunate for those who like to occasionally dine out at an Italian restaurant.

List of Gluten-Containing Foods
Pasta dishes are off limits. (pasta image by Adrian Hillman from Fotolia.com)

Tabouleh and Couscous

Tabouleh recipes include bulgar wheat so it is also a forbidden food item when paying attention to foods containing gluten. Couscous is a Middle Eastern pasta called semolina, which is a byproduct component of milled wheat.

List of Gluten-Containing Foods
Couscous (couscous image by Steve Lovegrove from Fotolia.com)

Doughnuts, Ice Cream Cones and Cakes

Gluten-containing foods also extend to items that are sweet, including doughnuts, ice cream cones, cakes and pancakes.

List of Gluten-Containing Foods
Add sweets to the list of gluten-containing foods. (funny cupcake image by coffee break from Fotolia.com)

Seitan

Seitan is gluten, pure and simple. This is unfortunate for those who are vegan and have a wheat intolerance or allergy because seitan is a versatile product and can be used as a meat substitute.

Other Foods Containing Gluten

Here are some additional common foods that contain gluten: breaded fish, flour tortillas, muffins, stuffings, cereals, sausages, soy sauce, pizza crust, pretzels and bagels.

Foods That May Contain Gluten

Here are some foods that may contain gluten, so you should read labels carefully: beer, crisps, gravy, hot dogs and cold cuts, root beer, puddings and salad dressings.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.