Rules of Indoor Cricket

Written by ariel phillips
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
Rules of Indoor Cricket
A cricket batsman defends his wicket with the wicket keeper nearby. (cricket batsman and wicket keeper image by patrimonio designs from

Indoor cricket is a version of the popular game of cricket. Since regular cricket matches use very large fields, it is not always possible for cricket players that live in urban environments to find space to play a full cricket match. Much like indoor soccer, indoor cricket derives its rules from its parent game of cricket but adapts them to a smaller, enclosed environment, often a warehouse or other large athletic facility.

Playing Area

The size of an indoor cricket field is about 30 meters by 10 meters. The indoor cricket field is played on a specifically designed surface covered with an artificial surface---artificial grass or grass matting---and surrounded by tightly strung nets. The cricket pitch, or the length between stumps, is the same as in regular cricket at 22 yards (20.12 meters).

Players and Game Duration

Indoor cricket matches consist of two teams with eight players each. Each player bowls two overs and must bat in a partnership for four overs. Play indoor cricket in 16 overs.


One major difference of indoor cricket is that players can catch balls off the surrounding netting. Also, when you get out, you lose five runs. However, the batsman stays until his four overs are complete.

Physical Runs

Like in normal cricket, you get runs by hitting the ball and running between the striker's creases in front of the stumps. In some cases, the non-striker's crease will be moved up from the stump to make the running distance shorter and, therefore, more conducive to the indoor scenario. Also, if the bowler bowls no ball or a wide ball, it costs the bowler's team two runs.

Bonus Runs

Indoor cricket scores bonus runs when the batsman hits the ball into certain parts of the surrounding net. There are four net zones: Zone A (front net behind the keeper), Zone B (side nets between the striker and halfway down the pitch), Zone C (side nets between halfway and the bowlers end) and Zone D (back net behind the bowler).

A ball hit to Zone A is worth zero bonus runs. A ball hit to Zone B is worth one run. A ball hit to Zone C is worth two runs, and a ball hit to Zone D is worth six runs or four runs on the bounce.

To score bonus runs, at least one physical run must be made as well.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.