How Long Does it Take for a Facebook Account to Be Closed Due to Inactivity?

Written by jay leon
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

Losing your Facebook account and everything in it can be a scary thought. Luckily, a period of inactivity or absence does not affect its standing. Beware of "phishing" attempts or fraudulent e-mails claiming your account will be deleted due to inactivity if you do not take action. If you do not want to disable your account, there are a couple of ways to restrict access to an account. Choose what is appropriate for you.

Other People Are Reading

Background

As a membership-based service, Facebook requires users to log in each time they want to use the site. However, there is no obligation to use an account within any amount of time. In other words, there is no penalty for inactivity at the site and your account would not be closed based solely on that factor. Users should beware of messages claiming their accounts are about to be deleted. Do not respond to or click a link in such a message. When in doubt, go directly to "facebook.com" and log in to your account from there.

Deactivation

Facebook offers a way to shut down your account without actually deleting it from the website. This option is known as deactivation. To use deactivation, go to "Account Settings" and look for "Deactivate Account" in the "Settings" tab. When you deactivate your Facebook account, your profile vanishes from the site and no one will be able to find you in searches. You can reactivate your account anytime just by logging in again to the site. Everything in your account including photos and friends will be restored upon reactivation.

Deletion

If you are positive that you no longer want to use Facebook, you can request for account removal. Bear in mind that deleting your account cannot be undone; it will permanently remove all the information you have posted to it. To delete your account, you must send a request to Facebook via a specific form. If the user is deceased, immediate family members can request for the user's account to be deleted.

Memorialising

Facebook makes special provisions for accounts whose owners have passed away. When a user dies, family members who are also confirmed friends in the user's friends list can ask that the user's account be removed. Otherwise when a death is reported, Facebook will memorialise that account. Memorialising restricts access to the profile to confirmed friends and disables logging in to the account. Friends can still post to the Wall to pay their respects to the deceased.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.