How long does it take for an inactive Facebook account to be deactivated?

Written by pat smith
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How long does it take for an inactive Facebook account to be deactivated?
Millions of people post videos and pictures on Facebook. (Thomas Northcut/Photodisc/Getty Images)

Facebook does not remove accounts due to inactivity. This is a hoax, and in some cases this misinformation is used to try to get users to give their personal information. This practice is called "phishing" and it is a scam. Facebook will only delete accounts that violate its terms of use. There is also a special setting called "memorializing" for accounts of the deceased.

Other People Are Reading

Inactive Users

Facebook reports more than 750 million active users, with half of that number logging in any given day. Facebook does not officially report inactive accounts, so the exact number is not known. Facebook occasionally sends e-mails to inactive users reminding them to log in and check their notifications.

Deactivation

Facebook does not deactivate accounts for inactivity. This is probably because it hopes that eventually users will return to the website, and even infrequent activity is better than none. If anyone tells you that your account will be deleted if you do not log in, he is misinformed.

Phishing

Phishing is a fraudulent attempt to get your personal information, such as full name, Social Security number, bank information or passwords. This most commonly occurs through e-mails, which claim to be official but in fact are spam. If you receive an e-mail claiming to be from Facebook that says you must log in to avoid your account being deactivated, do not click any links or enter any personal information. Report the email to Facebook or your e-mail provider.

Memorialised Pages

Facebook has a special service for the pages of people who have died. It makes the account private so only current friends can see the content, and no one can search for the deceased person. It also prevents anyone from logging in using the account information. The current content remains there for friends and family to view, and people can post memories and loving thoughts on the wall.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.