Facebook groups have two levels of leadership: ownership and admins. The owner of the group can make other people admins, and all of them can edit the group's content. However, the admins cannot remove the owner. When someone makes a new Facebook group, then leaves the group or deletes his account, a series of steps determines the new owner.
Other People Are Reading
If the group has no members, the group is deleted. At least, that's what's supposed to happen. Occasionally through an error the page will persist, although with no owner there's no one to set admins. If the group is set to private or if you need permission to join, no one will be able to join at all.
Members, No Admin
If there are group members but no admins, when the owner leaves the members are given the chance to become an admin. You would go to the group page and click "Become Admin." The first person who becomes an admin also assumes the same rights as the previous owner of the group.
Members With Admins
When the founder leaves, remaining admins have the opportunity to take over the ownership of the group. Again, you go to the group page to accept this setting. Once you've done this, when you leave the group, that chance is offered up to any remaining admins.
What Ownership Entails
Being the owner of a new Facebook group is basically the same as being an admin, except that no one can remove you from the group except yourself. When setting new members as admins, make sure they understand the purpose of the group, and that they will be responsible with new content.
- 20 of the funniest online reviews ever
- 14 Biggest lies people tell in online dating sites
- Hilarious things Google thinks you're trying to search for