Why Is Orange Associated With Gluttony?

Written by jennifer vanbaren | 13/05/2017
Why Is Orange Associated With Gluttony?
Orange is the colour of gluttony and is based on the idea that orange trees are ever-bearing fruit trees. (Jupiterimages/Photos.com/Getty Images)

In Christianity, orange is often the colour associated with gluttony. Gluttony is one of the seven deadly sins and refers to the excessive desire to consume more than a person needs. It is also referred to as overindulgence. The notion of seven deadly sins dates to the sixth century.


St. Gregory the Great, who lived in the 500s and 600s, first introduced the seven deadly sins. He named the seven sins superbia, invidia, ira, avaritia, tristitia, gula and luxuria. In the 13th century, the Christian theologian Thomas Aquinas wrote them into the form we know them today by naming them pride, envy, anger, avarice, sadness, gluttony and lust. These seven deadly sins are also called cardinal sins and have been a part of the Catholic church since this time. Since this time, gluttony has always been associated with two primary elements: the colour orange and pigs.


The only colour that was named directly from an object is the colour orange, named from the fruit. The colour orange has always represented fruitfulness because of the ever-bearing characteristics of the orange tree. Orange is between yellow and red on the colour spectrum, and is sometimes associated with flames, excitement and adventure. According to the website Sensational Color, orange is a colour that most people either love or hate because of its flamboyant tones.


Pigs are an animal known for their overindulgence. Pigs will often eat as long as food is placed in front of them. This is the reason that the pig is often associated with the deadly sin of gluttony.


Gluttony is one of the seven deadly sins and is thought to be a problem for people who were not properly weaned as infants, according to the 7 Deadly Sins website. This site also states that the punishment for this particular sin is that a person will go to hell and have to eat rats, snakes and toads. On the opposite side of the spectrum from the seven deadly sins, each sin has a virtue that is opposite of the sin and is what people should strive for. The virtue for gluttony is that of moderation or self-restraint.

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.