Gluten-Free Substitutes for Corn Starch

Written by june lee
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
Gluten-Free Substitutes for Corn Starch
Making the perfect, thick soup can still be gluten-free, even if you don't have cornflour around. (Jupiterimages/Goodshoot/Getty Images)

If you're planning on making the perfect gravy, soup or cake icing, you'll need a thickening agent. To keep your sauces and baked goods healthy and gluten-free, cornflour conveniently does not contain gluten, a protein found in wheat. This makes it an ideal substitute for flour. Yet, cornflour isn't the only gluten-free thickener you can use. There are many alternatives to try out if you don't have cornflour on hand.

Other People Are Reading

Arrowroot

Made from West Indies tubers, arrowroot starch is an ideal thickening substitute. Arrowroot has an even more neutral flavour than cornflour, making it a nearly tasteless thickener. According to Cook's Thesaurus, arrowroot also works well at lower temperatures (such as making icing) and withstands prolonged cooking and acidic ingredients. It's also a great substitute if you're trying to avoid corn- or potato-based products. As an added bonus, arrowroot adds an eye-pleasing glossiness to foods, perfect for desserts.

Tapioca Starch

Tapioca starch, also known as yucca or cassava starch, is another useful thickening alternative. Often used for pie fillings, tapioca starch can also be added to a soup or sauce for a creamy texture. If you cannot find tapioca starch, simply use instant tapioca and turn the tapioca balls into a powder using a coffee grinder.

Potato Starch

Gluten-free and kosher, potato starch is another substitute for cornflour. As you would with other thickeners, mix potato starch with warm water and add to sauces and soups. Since potato starch can get lumpy, be sure to stir constantly and gently as you cook to keep your sauce smooth. As an alternative to potato starch, add a small mashed potato to your soup to thicken it and create substance.

Lotus Root Flour

A popular Chinese thickening alternative, lotus root flour can be found at Asian food markets. Made from the roots of lotus water lilies, lotus root flour is a cream coloured, easy-to-digest, gluten-free flour. It's often used to make batter for frying vegetables and meat. However, this elegant alternative is more expensive than cornflour.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.