Standard IQ tests for adults

Written by kevin watson Google
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
Standard IQ tests for adults
IQ tests help determine how intelligent you are. (Michael Blann/Lifesize/Getty Images)

Disputes have raged about intelligence quotient (IQ) tests since they first appeared. According to IQ, some critics, for example, argue that IQ tests don't evaluate intelligence and instead measure skill sets that the tests' creators most admire. Nonetheless, IQ tests remain a standard tool of psychologists to determine intelligence and cognitive ability.

Raven's Progressive Matrices

Raven's Progressive Matrices present a series of questions based on abstract reasoning. Each question is an incomplete pattern and has multiple-choice answers. You must decide which answer makes the pattern complete. The patterns appear in small rows and columns known in mathematics as matrices. Dr. John C. Raven created this test in 1936 to measure the ability to retain information and resolve complex visual puzzles. Adults of ordinary intelligence use Raven's Standard Progressive Matrices. Those whose intelligence is above average use Raven's Advanced Progressive Matrices.

Stanford-Binet Intelligence Test

The Stanford-Binet 5 poses questions that examine short-term memory, knowledge, reasoning skills, quantitative skills, and visual and abstract processing skills. Reasoning skills refer to the ability to solve problems. Quantitative skills relate to your ability to study a word problem and discover a mathematical answer to it. Visual and abstract processing refers to the ability to analyse and explain diagrams and figures. Each of these aspects of Stanford-Binet 5 has non-verbal and verbal sections. This test does not rely solely on verbal or non-verbal testing alone, and therefore to some extent avoids difficulties in measuring IQ of people with limited communication skills.

Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale

The Wechsler-Bellevue IQ test first appeared in 1939. Since then, it has undergone a series of revisions, and the WAIS IV was released in 2008. WAIS IV measures perceptual reasoning, memory, verbal comprehension and processing speed. Each of these four categories has core and supplemental sub-tests. Verbal comprehension, for example, has information, vocabulary and similarity sub-tests, and a comprehension supplemental test.

Woodcock-Johnson Tests of Cognitive Abilities

The standard WJ III IQ analysis uses 10 five-minute modules. Nelson says that the modules explore a more comprehensive range of intellectual abilities than other IQ tests. The Brief Intellectual Ability (BIA) Test is a 15-minute abbreviated version of WJ III. It gives a quick measure of someone's intelligence in line with the WJ III principles. To confirm a BIA result, you can take some of the standard WJ III modules.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.