What is the difference between "Share" and "Post to profile" for an album on Facebook?

Written by david nield Google
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
What is the difference between "Share" and "Post to profile" for an album on Facebook?
You can share Facebook albums uploaded by yourself and others. (Justin Sullivan/Getty Images News/Getty Images)

The idea of sharing thoughts, memories and pictures is central to Facebook, which is why you'll find many different ways to link to the photo albums you create. The "Post to profile" option has now been replaced by "Post photos" on the album creation screen (as well as the profile itself evolving into the Timeline) while the "Share" option provides even more ways to link to a collection of pictures.

Other People Are Reading

Post photos

When you create a new photo album on Facebook clicking the "Post photos" button publishes all of the images on your Timeline complete with captions, tags and other information. The post appears as a link to the album and includes thumbnails of some of the pictures within. Which of your friends are able to see the link on your Timeline (and as a story in the news feed) is determined by the audience selector drop-down menu that appears to the left of the "Post photos" button. You can use this to set the visibility of the pictures (select "Custom," for example, to list specific friends who can or cannot see the album).

The Share option

The "Share" option appears under any Facebook photo album you have permission to see, whether or not you uploaded it yourself. This option takes the album link and enables you to post it on your own Timeline (similar to the "Post photos" button), on the Timeline of one of your friends, in a group, on a Facebook Page or via a private message. The audience selector drop-down menu can be used to control who is able to see the link to the album, but the privacy settings for the album itself are controlled by its owner.

Sharing to Timelines

Choose to share an album to your own Timeline and it works very much like the "Post photos" button does -- a link to the album is posted on your Timeline together with a selection of thumbnails. As with "Post photos," you can control who is able to see the link on your Timeline and in the news feed through the audience selector. If you're sharing someone else's photo album, the existing privacy settings assigned by the owner may prevent your friends from seeing the album link. Share the album to someone else's Timeline, and that friend controls who can see the Timeline entry. As before, the album's original owner controls who can see the album itself and the pictures it contains.

Sharing to groups and in private

Choose to share a photo album to one of the groups you belong to or in a private message and the privacy settings associated with the album control whether or not your friends will be able to click through and view the pictures. If the album is one of your own, you control the privacy settings through the audience selector; if not, you are bound by the privacy settings put in place by the original owner. Sharing someone else's private album on your own Timeline does not suddenly make it visible to all of your friends.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.