How to Migrate Pokemon in "Pokemon SoulSilver" With a DSI

Written by arnold carreiro
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Migrate Pokemon in "Pokemon SoulSilver" With a DSI
Regirock, Regice and Registeel are found exclusively in Game Boy Advance "Pokemon" games. (Junko Kimura/Getty Images News/Getty Images)

Since the Nintendo DSI does not have a Game Boy Advance expansion slot, Migrating Pokemon from earlier videogames can seem daunting, but it is doable. Many older Pokemon are much rarer in the modern Nintendo DS versions of the "Pokemon" games, so importing creatures like Regirock and Groudon from the Game Boy Advance titles becomes a major help to fill up the Pokedex. The process is somewhat unwieldy due to the amount of hardware needed, but having these old-school monsters on your "Pokemon SoulSilver" team is worth the effort.

Skill level:

Things you need

  • Nintendo DSI
  • Game Boy Advance "Pokemon" title
  • Classic Nintendo DS or Nintendo DS Lite model
  • "Pokemon SoulSilver" game
  • A "Pokemon" Nintendo DS title

Show MoreHide


  1. 1

    Insert the Game Boy Advance "Pokemon" title into the GBA slot of the original model Nintendo DS and another Nintendo DS "Pokemon" game into the DS slot.

  2. 2

    Turn on the system and select the "Migrate From" option. Choose six Pokemon at a time to import to the Nintendo DS game.

  3. 3

    Travel to the Pal Park in the DS "Pokemon" game and start a Catching Contest. Walk around the grassy areas to meet and recapture all six of the Pokemon that you imported.

  4. 4

    Turn on the Nintendo DSI that is holding "Pokemon SoulSilver" and enter a Pokemon Center on both Nintendo DS systems. Climb the stairs to the second level of the Pokemon Center and talk to the nurse behind the counter to start a Pokemon Trade.

  5. 5

    Trade all six migrated Pokemon from the classic Nintendo DS to the Nintendo DSI with "Pokemon SoulSilver."

Tips and warnings

  • The Game Boy Advance versions of "Pokemon" that you can migrate Pokemon from are "Pokemon Ruby," "Pokemon Emerald," "Pokemon Sapphire," "Pokemon LeafGreen" and "Pokemon FireRed."

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.