How to Stop Google Links From Turning Purple

Written by shawn mcclain
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

When you search for something on Google, if some of the results are purple, it simply signifies that you have already visited that Web page and have a record of it in your browser history. To remove the purple colour, you will have to delete your browser history. To prevent your browsing from being recorded, you can enter a private browsing mode. The exact instructions for doing both of these actions will vary depending on which browser you are using.

Skill level:
Moderately Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

    Internet Explorer 8

  1. 1

    Click the "Safety" menu, located in the top-right corner of the browser window. Click "Delete Browsing History" from the drop-down menu. A new window will open up.

  2. 2

    Add ticks in the boxes next to the items that you want to delete, removing any ticks if necessary. Ensure that the "History" box has a check mark. Click the "Delete" button to erase your history. The next time you do a Google search, none of the results links will be purple.

  3. 3

    Click the "Safety" button and choose "InPrivate Browsing" to open a private browsing window. Any browsing that you do in this window will not be recorded in IE's history.

    Firefox 5

  1. 1

    Click the "Tools" menu at the top of the Firefox window. Choose "Clear Recent History" from the drop-down menu.

  2. 2

    Click on any ticks to remove them from any aspect that you don't want erased, like Cookies or Cache, but ensure that "Browsing & Download History" has a check next to it. Click the drop-down box at the top of the window and choose "Everything." Click the "Clear Now" button to erase your history. Your next Google search will not return any purple results links.

  3. 3

    Click the "Tools" menu and choose "Start Private Browsing" to open up a private browsing window. Any Web pages that you visit in this browser will not be recorded in your browser history.

    Google Chrome 12

  1. 1

    Click the wrench icon on the right end of the address bar. Choose "History" from the drop-down menu.

  2. 2

    Click "Edit Items" at the top of the list of Web pages, then click the "Clear all browsing data" button. Add or remove ticks to the different data fields, but ensure that "Clear browsing history" has a check mark. Click the drop-down menu and choose "the beginning of time." Click "Clear browsing data" to erase your history.

  3. 3

    Click the wrench icon and choose "New Incognito Window" to open up a browsing window that will not record your online activity.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.