How to Return a Deleted Post on Facebook

Written by robert schrader
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

One feature of Facebook that is potentially bothersome is the fact that you can't edit a comment you leave on your own or someone else's Facebook post once you've published it. If you make an error while commenting, your only choice is to delete and re-post the comment. Facebook repopulates the "Comment" field with the text of the message you deleted whenever you delete a post, allowing for quick re-posting of comments on Facebook posts.

Skill level:
Moderately Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Click your mouse inside the "Comment" field, where the text of your deleted post appears immediately after you delete. Edit the text of the post to reflect what you want to say.

  2. 2

    Hit your keyboard's "Enter" key to publish the fixed comment. Confirm that your new comment is free of errors before you leave Facebook.

  3. 3

    Retype comments you accidentally delete -- and aren't able to immediately re-post -- as close to their original versions as possible. If you leave a post after deleting your comment on it, the "Comment" field below it isn't populated the next time you return.

Tips and warnings

  • This technique works only for comments you make to yours and others' posts -- and not for posts themselves. At the time of publication, no way to recover a deleted post exists.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.