How to remove conversations from the list on skype

Written by catherine chase
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to remove conversations from the list on skype
Skype offers free Internet phone service. (Mario Tama/Getty Images News/Getty Images)

Skype automatically saves your conversation history, which consists of all of your instant messages, transferred files, voicemails and calls. To help protect your privacy, remove conversations from your list if you no longer need to refer to them. Those who use a Mac can delete the entire conversation history or just specific items. Windows users only have the option to remove their entire conversation history from their lists.

Skill level:

Other People Are Reading


    Skype for Mac Users

  1. 1

    Log on to Skype to remove specific conversations or to delete all of your recent conversations.

  2. 2

    Click on the main menu and then click on "Conversations." Click on "Clear Recent" to remove all recent conversations.

  3. 3

    Go to the sidebar to remove a specific conversation, rather than all of them.

  4. 4

    Locate the conversation from the list and right-click on it. Click on "Close" from the menu to delete the conversation.

    Skype for Windows Users

  1. 1

    Log on to Skype to delete your entire conversation history.

  2. 2

    Click "Skype" from the menu and select "Privacy."

  3. 3

    Click "Clear history" beneath the "Keep history for" heading.

Tips and warnings

  • If you use Skype 4.2 or below for Windows, click on the "X" button at the end of the conversation to remove it from the list.

Don't Miss


  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.