Lecithin is a composite yellowish brown fatty material that exists in some plant and animal tissues. As a food product it is an emulsifier, which means it binds fat and water-based materials together. In cake or baked goods, lecithin can add fat content making the recipe more moist, as well as acting as a preservative. Lecithin comes in granules or a liquid, and is also available as a supplement at health-food stores. Usually found in many plant foods like soy or grape seed, most lecithin available is made from plant sources and is therefore suitable for vegan or vegetarian diets.
- Skill level:
- Moderately Easy
Other People Are Reading
Check the health-food aisle at your grocer for granular or liquid lecithin. Liquid lecithin should be refrigerated or it will go rancid in a short time. Granular lecithin can be mixed with water when used in the recipes to turn it to liquid form.
Contact a health food store for lecithin if your grocery does not carry it. Lecithin is a commonly sold product.
Add 1 tbsp to 2 tbsp of lecithin to your cake recipe and reduce the fat by the same amount. For example, if the recipe calls for vegetable oil, reduce the oil by 2 tbsp and add 2 tbsp of lecithin.
Create liquid lecithin from granules by dissolving 1 tbsp of granular lecithin into 2 tbsp of water.
- 20 of the funniest online reviews ever
- 14 Biggest lies people tell in online dating sites
- Hilarious things Google thinks you're trying to search for