How to Unshare on Facebook

Written by robert schrader
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

Sharing on Facebook -- namely, "status updates" that detail your state of mind, current activity or whereabouts and "posts" that link to external content or media -- is central to communicating with others using the site. Status updates and posts you share reach your entire network of friends via Facebook's News Feed the moment you post them. You can un-share Facebook posts and status updates you later decide you don't want others to see.

Skill level:
Moderately Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Sign on to Facebook. Click your name or profile picture in the upper, left corner of the site to go to your profile page.

  2. 2

    Scroll down through your Facebook "Wall" to see a list of posts and status updates you've made. Hover your mouse over the right side of each post or status update you want to un-share until an "x" icon appears. Click it.

  3. 3

    Click "Remove Post" to delete the post or status update from your wall. Doing so also deletes it from your Facebook "News Feed" -- no other Facebook user is able to see the content any longer.

Tips and warnings

  • Un-share with care. It isn't possible to undelete a post or status update on Facebook -- and while it is possible to re-post the exact same content, you lose comments and "Likes" your friends give a post or status update when you delete content.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.