How to Unsave Your Password on Facebook

Written by lara webster
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Unsave Your Password on Facebook
Change your Facebook password if you think someone else gained access to it. (Justin Sullivan/Getty Images News/Getty Images)

When you are using Facebook on your personal computer, saving the password so that you stay logged in makes sense. If, however, another person begins sharing your computer, unsaving the password protects your privacy. Both Facebook and your Internet browser can remember your password for the social networking site. You must log out of Facebook to stop the site from remembering your password, but you can modify Internet browser settings even when you are logged in.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Click the "Account" link in the top right corner of any Facebook screen, and select "Logout" from the drop-down menu.

  2. 2

    Uncheck the box next to "Keep Me Logged In." The next time you log in, Facebook will not save your name and password to keep you logged in indefinitely.

  3. 3

    Clear the saved password in Internet Explorer by going to the "Internet Options" menu and clicking "Delete" in the "Browsing History" section. Click "Delete Passwords."

  4. 4

    Go to the "Tools" tab if you use Firefox, and select "Options." Click on the "Security" tab and then "Saved Passwords." Highlight the Facebook line, and click "Remove."

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.