How to block Facebook for a period of time

Written by carolyn luck
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to block Facebook for a period of time
Facebook offers versatility with temporary account-blocking features. (Dan Kitwood/Getty Images News/Getty Images)

There are several options available to Facebook users in search of account-blocking features. If you want to temporarily block your Facebook account, you can choose one of two options, depending on your needs. Adjust your privacy settings to temporarily restrict the visibility of your content, while still maintaining access to your account. Deactivate your Facebook account to temporarily disable functionality, making it disappear from Facebook entirely until you are ready to begin using it again.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

    Block List Creation

  1. 1

    Sign into your Facebook account and select the "Friends" link from the left sidebar of your home page. Click the "Edit Friends" button on the resulting page, and select "Create A List."

  2. 2

    Click the names of the friends you wish to temporarily block from the list of names that appear in the resulting box. Type a list name in the "Create A Name" box and click the "Create List" button. Use a name like "To Be Blocked" to avoid confusion.

  3. 3

    Click the "Privacy Settings" option in the "Account" tab located in the right corner of any page. Select the "Edit Your Lists" link located under the "Block Lists" section of your privacy page.

  4. 4

    Type the name of the friend list you created in the "Name" box on the resulting page. Click "Block This User" to view a list of matching search results. Select the "Block" option located next to the friend list as it appears in the resulting box. This blocks your Facebook account from every member on the friend list.

  5. 5

    Unblock your Facebook account through the "Edit Your Lists" link located in the lower portion of your privacy page. Select the "Unblock" option that appears next to the name of the blocked friend list to allow account visibility.

    Temporary Account Deactivation

  1. 1

    Sign into your Facebook account and select the "Account" tab in the upper-right corner of any page. Select the "Account Settings" option to view your "My Account" page.

  2. 2

    Scroll down to the "Deactivate Account" option and click the "Deactivation" link.

  3. 3

    If desired, send messages to one or more Facebook friends, notifying them of your deactivation. Check off one of the provided options to verify your reason for deactivation, or select "Other" and provide your own reason if none apply to you. Submit your preference for the Facebook e-mail opt-out.

  4. 4

    Click the "Confirm" button to deactivate your account. To reactivate your Facebook account, log in with your e-mail address and password.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.