How to stop publishing a Facebook news feed

Written by dan howard
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to stop publishing a Facebook news feed
You can remove any link or comment that you post to Facebook. (Jupiterimages/Photos.com/Getty Images)

Facebook's News Feed allows you to post status updates and links to stories or media that you want to share with your Facebook friends. When you post an update or link, it is published to your friends' News Feed, which appears in their main Facebook screen. You can eliminate an unwanted News Feed post from your main Facebook wall, or you can edit your Facebook settings to completely eliminate your Facebook News Feed.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

    Remove a News Feed Item

  1. 1

    Open your Web browser, and navigate to www.facebook.com.>

  2. 2

    Log in to your Facebook account with your e-mail address and password.

  3. 3

    Click your name in the upper left corner of the Facebook News Feed window to access your Facebook wall.

  4. 4

    Scroll down until you locate the News Feed item that you wish to delete.

  5. 5

    Hover your mouse pointer over the feed item that you want to remove. A blue "X" will appear on the right side of the News Feed post.

  6. 6

    Click the "X" and click "Remove Post" to delete the selected News Feed item.

    Eliminate Your News Feed

  1. 1

    Click the "Account" tab at the top right of the program window, and then click "Account Settings" and "Customize Settings."

  2. 2

    Click the drop-down menu next to "Posts by me," and click "Customize" in the list.

  3. 3

    Click the "These People:" drop-down menu and choose "Only me"; then click the "Save Setting" button. Items that you place on your Facebook wall will no longer be published to your news feed.

  4. 4

    Click the drop-down menu next to "Can See Wall Posts by Friends," and click "Customize" in the list.

  5. 5

    Click the "These People:" drop-down menu, and choose "Only me"; then click the "Save Setting" button. Items that your friends place on your Facebook wall will no longer be published to your news feed.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.