How to unrequest people on Facebook

Written by lara webster
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to unrequest people on Facebook
Many Facebook users hide profile content from the public. (Peter Macdiarmid/Getty Images News/Getty Images)

Before someone becomes your friend on Facebook, he must approve your official friend request. If you accidentally hit "Add as Friend" on the wrong Facebook profile, or you just change your mind about wanting to connect with a user, cancelling your friend request is very easy. With just the click of a mouse, your request will be rescinded. Cancelling a friend request does not stop you from connecting with the user in the future.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Point your browser to the profile of the person for whom you want to cancel a friend request. Locate a Facebook user by typing his name in the search field at the top of any Facebook screen, or clicking on his thumbnail image on a mutual friend's page.

  2. 2

    Scroll down to the bottom of the left column on the user's profile.

  3. 3

    Click on the blue "Cancel Friend Request" link. The link will turn grey and say "Friend Request Canceled." If you want to request the person again in the future, return to his profile and click the "Add as Friend" icon at the top of the profile.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.