How to Disable Creative Auto Update

Written by emilio alvarez
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

The auto update feature in Creative Suite or CS, a product of Adobe, can be quickly disabled through the preferences menu or through the Registry Editor utility. Software updates are important maintenance tools that provide your Creative software with the latest fixes or enhancements from the Adobe. Disabling the Creative Auto Update feature might be necessary if you wish to control the updates manually or if you wish prevent the update alert message from interrupting you while working on a Creative Suite project.

Skill level:
Moderate

Other People Are Reading

Things you need

  • Internet connection

Show MoreHide

Instructions

  1. 1

    Launch Windows Explorer and double-click the "AdobeUpdate.exe" file, generally located in your primary drive. For example, "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Updater." The "Adobe Updater" window will open.

  2. 2

    Click the "Preferences" menu in the "Adobe Updater" window.

  3. 3

    Clear the check box that corresponds to the "Automatically Check for Updates" and click "OK."

  1. 1

    Log into the system as an administrator and launch the Registry Editor utility by clicking "Start," typing "regedit" in the Start Search text field and pressing "Enter."

  2. 2

    Expand "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE," "SOFTWARE" from the left pane's tree directory and right-click the "Adobe" sub-folder.

  3. 3

    Choose "New" > "String Value" from the pop-up menu, name it "AdobeOnlineDefault" and press "Enter." The new value will display on the right pane.

  4. 4

    Double-click the newly created "AdobeOnlineDefault" setting. An "Edit String Value" window will open. Type the number "0" in the "Value data" text field and click "OK."

  5. 5

    Expand "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE," "SOFTWARE," "Adobe" and right-click the "CSXSPreferences" sub-folder.

  6. 6

    Choose "New" > "String Value" from the pop-up menu, name it "UpdatesAllowed" and press "Enter." The new value will display on the right pane.

  7. 7

    Double-click "UpdatesAllowed," type the number "0" in the "Value data" text field and click "OK." Exit the Registry Editor.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.