How to Remove Autofollow on Twitter

Written by robert schrader
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

Central among the basic premises of Twitter is the concept of "following." Namely, you follow certain users and a certain number of those users -- and other users, whom you don't follow -- follow you back. To help ensure reciprocity and balance among users, Twitter permits the use of applications which automatically follow users who follow you, a process known as "auto follow-back." Disable these applications if you don't want to automatically follow all users who follow you.

Skill level:
Moderately Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Click the "Profile" button on the navigation bar the top of Twitter and then click "Edit My Profile" underneath your Twitter username.

  2. 2

    Open the "Connections" tab of your user profile. Scroll down through the list of websites and services you've allowed to connect to your Twitter account until you locate the service you use for auto-follow-back.

  3. 3

    Click "Revoke Access" next to the program's name to remove its access to your Twitter account. Past this point, you no longer automatically follow users who follow you back.

Tips and warnings

  • Although Twitter permits you to automatically follow users who follow you back, Twitter explicitly prohibits the use of software that helps you "mass follow" other users. According to Twitter, doing so constitutes "aggressive following" and may result in your account being banned from the site.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.