How to Remove Messages From the Yahoo! Messenger Status Box

Written by jennifer leighton
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Remove Messages From the Yahoo! Messenger Status Box
Yahoo! Messenger allows you to chat with friends and share status updates. (Jupiterimages/Brand X Pictures/Getty Images)

The Yahoo! Messenger instant messaging program provides users with a means of instant communication via the Internet. Although the focus of Yahoo! Messenger is the real-time instant messaging, it is also possible to enter status updates that appear next to your name and image or avatar (if you chose one). The current Yahoo! Messenger status message can be easily cleared, and past messages can be deleted over time.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Access an Internet browser and navigate to the Yahoo! Messenger login page.

  2. 2

    Type your Yahoo! username and password into the provided field and click the "Sign In" button.

  3. 3

    Click the downturned arrow at the top of the Yahoo! Messenger page, next to your current status.

  4. 4

    Click the "Clear My Status Message" option (the last option) in the drop-down menu that appears.

  5. 5

    Check your Yahoo! Messenger status, which should now be blank. You can type in a new message at this time if you wish. The message that you just cleared appears at the top of the drop-down menu but is not deleted yet.

  6. 6

    Add additional Yahoo! Messenger status updates until you have entered a total of 10 status updates. No permanent deletions, only status message clearings, can occur until you have accumulated this number of updates.

  7. 7

    Delete previous Yahoo! Messenger status messages by entering new ones. According to the Yahoo! Messenger Help site, the Yahoo! Messenger program stores your previous nine status message updates. As Yahoo! states, "There's no way to manually delete the old custom status messages, they'll be deleted as you make new ones." As soon as you have accumulated nine status messages in your Yahoo! Messenger history, the oldest of those messages vanishes from the status message list. The messenger updates are then deleted in reverse order each time you enter a new update.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.