How to Format an iPhone 3G

Written by derek young
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Format an iPhone 3G
Format your iPhone 3G to reset it to factory settings. (power button image by Andrey Zyk from Fotolia.com)

Formatting an iPhone 3G will erase all the data on your phone, delete all your apps and reset your phone to factory settings. Formatting your phone is a good last resort if you're having software issues with your phone. Keep in mind that the format is permanent and any data irrecoverable.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Click the "Settings" icon.

  2. 2

    Select "General."

  3. 3

    Scroll to the bottom and select "Reset."

  4. 4

    Select "Erase All Content and Settings." A warning message will display. Confirm your selection. The iPhone screen will turn off then show a "waiting" sign. After formatting is complete, the Apple logo will display and finally your formatted iPhone will reboot.

Tips and warnings

  • Deleted data can't be recovered. Back up all your contacts and any data you want before formatting your iPhone.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.