My outlook calendar from months ago is missing

Written by andrew mikael
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
My outlook calendar from months ago is missing
Outlook does not delete old calender information, but rather archives it. (calendar image by Destard from Fotolia.com)

Microsoft Outlook's calender application keeps track of appointments, reminders and other scheduling activity, and a frequent user of the program may have months or even years of calender items saved to an Outlook account. If Outlook removes appointments from several months ago, they are not deleted, but rather archived. By default, Outlook archives previous material after a certain amount of time has passed. This limits the information stored in Outlook to the most relevant, and allows you to retrieve your schedule remotely or synchronise it with a mobile device much faster. You can access Outlook's archive file to view previous appointments, and disable the archive feature to keep appointments from disappearing in the future.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Open the control panel and select "Folder Options." Click the "View" tab and scroll down to the Hidden Files and Folders section. Select the "Show Hidden Files, Folders and Drives" radio button. The archived Outlook information is stored in a hidden folder by default, and you will not be able to access it without this option enabled.

  2. 2

    Open Outlook and sign in with the account for which you wish to retrieve lost items. Click on the "Office" button and highlight "Open." Select the "Outlook Data File" option.

  3. 3

    Navigate to the "archive.pst" file and click "Open." By default, it is located in the Application Data\Microsoft\Outlook folder in the active user's directory, though it may be elsewhere if the location was manually changed. The archived information appears in its assigned locations in the calender.

  1. 1

    Click on the "Tools" menu and select "Options." Navigate to the "Other" tab.

  2. 2

    Click the "AutoArchive" button. Uncheck the "Run AutoArchive Every" box to turn off the archival feature.

  3. 3

    Click "OK" to save the changes. Older scheduling information will no longer be removed, but stay visible in the Outlook calender.

Tips and warnings

  • If you don't want to remove autoarchiving completely, you can set it to keep information visible for a longer time from the AutoArchive window. You can also view and manually change the location of the "archive.pst" file from this screen.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.