How to Remove a Toshiba Power Saver

Written by fatima farakh
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Remove a Toshiba Power Saver
Toshiba Power Saver manages the battery and power supply for Toshiba laptops. (power supply wire image by NataV from Fotolia.com)

The Toshiba Power Saver software utility helps control the amount of power used by a Toshiba notebook computer. The main purpose of the utility is to maximise the amount of time a notebook battery can be used without needing a recharge. The tool accomplishes this by adjusting various settings on the computer to conserve power. In some cases, you may not want this utility on your computer.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Shut down Microsoft Windows on your Toshiba computer.

  2. 2

    Turn the computer back on and tap the "F8" key several times until a menu containing start-up options appears on your computer screen. Choose "Safe Mode" from the list of options and wait for it to boot into Windows.

  3. 3

    Click "Start" from the Windows task bar and select "Control Panel." When the Windows Control Panel appears, click "Switch to Classic View" on the left side of the Control Panel Window.

  4. 4

    Double-click "Add or Remove Programs." From from the "Currently Installed Software" list, select the following utility programs that appear: "Toshiba Power Saver," "Toshiba Tbiosdrv Driver," "Toshiba Utilities" and "Toshiba Common Modules." Each utility program will differ according to model.

  5. 5

    Click the "Change or Remove" button and close the "Add or Remove Programs" window.

  6. 6

    Go to "Control Panel" and double-click on the "System" icon. Click "Hardware" and then click on the button titled "Device Manager."

  7. 7

    Click "View" on the menu bar and click on the "Show Hidden Devices" so that a check mark appears next to it.

  8. 8

    Select all the subentries under "Toshiba Logical Device" and press "Delete." Return to the Windows desktop.

  9. 9

    Click the "Start" button and select the triangle to the right of the shut down option. Click "Restart" to exit "Safe Mode" and restart your computer to return to "Normal Mode."

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.