How to Disable the Check for Server Certificate Revocation

Written by katrina matterhorn
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Disable the Check for Server Certificate Revocation
Increase the speed of your server by disabling the check for server certificate revocation. (laptop image by Angie Lingnau from Fotolia.com)

The server certificate revocation list (CRL) checks for the validity of server certificates. The certificates are usually valid for two years. Additionally, some server certificates require private keys, and whenever those are lost or exposed, the security of the certificate poses potential risks, which the CRL also checks for. Occasionally, communication between servers or application downloads from websites can be stalled due to the CRL checking certificates. If you need to speed up processes at certain times, disabling the check for server certificate revocation requires a few steps to configure.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Click "System CenterConfiguration Manager," then choose "Site Database" and click "Site Management" in the "Configuration Manager" console.

  2. 2

    Right-click "<site code> -<site code>." Hit "Properties."

  3. 3

    Choose or cancel "Enable CRL Checking on Clients" on the "Site Mode" tab within the "Site Properties" box. Hit "OK."

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.