How to Learn Conveyancing

Written by elle hanson
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Learn Conveyancing
Conveyancers draft the legal documents necessary for the transfer of property ownership. (My Home for sale image by Primabild from

Conveyancing is the legal process of transferring property ownership from one entity to another. Similar to a mortgage broker in the United States, conveyancers draft the documents necessary for transfer of property titles in the United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand. To become a licensed conveyancer, you must enrol in a two to three-year program offered by an accredited college. In addition to coursework, students must complete two years of practical training and pass a national exam before becoming licensed.

Skill level:


  1. 1

    Apply to a college that offers a program in conveyancing. Many of these programs are available at law schools. If accepted, you will receive two to three years of instruction on foundational law, land law, requirements for buying and selling, and contract law.

  2. 2

    Work under a qualified employer for the equivalent of two years after the successful completion of coursework. You will have the option of completing this requirement as either a full time or part time employee. Qualified employers include licensed conveyancers or solicitors. Only in rare instances may students receive an exemption from practical training.

  3. 3

    Submit a Certificate of Practical Training as proof of the completion of job training for every twelve months that you work under a qualified employer. This document must detail the work you are doing and requires the signature of your supervisor. When you have completed both your coursework and practical training, you will be eligible to take the licensing examination.

  4. 4

    Register for the conveyancing examination. Spend the adequate time studying, as the exam is challenging and comprehensively tests your abilities. It will cover topics that you learnt during both your coursework and practical training. Examinations are held only two or three times a year, so it is important to plan for them well in advance.

  5. 5

    Apply to become a Employed Licensed Conveyancer once you receive a passing mark on the examination. If you are granted a license, you will have the legal authority to perform conveyancing services, offer probate services and commission oaths. Your application can be refused if you have not adequately completed any portion of conveyancer training, including coursework, practical training or the examination. You must reapply for a license every twelve months. Licensed conveyancers are typically employed by banks, financial institutions, building societies or local authorities.

Tips and warnings

  • Even if you successfully complete your coursework, practical training, and examination, you can be denied a conveyancing license on the basis of defects in your moral or personal character. Keep your record clean to help avoid this.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.