How to Disable the Upspeed in uTorrent

Written by travis wampler
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

uTorrent, one of the Internet's most widely used BitTorrent clients, is popular due to its efficient use of system resources and bandwidth allocation. One of its more robust features allows users to restrict the upload and download speeds of peer-shared files across the BitTorrent network. While the uTorrent settings do not allow a user to fully disable the upload or sharing of files, setting your upload rate to 1kB/s dramatically reduces the program’s ability to upload your local files for sharing across the network. The only other viable alternative is to delete used torrents from your hard-drive, in turn disabling the possibility of upload while still retaining the original data file associated with the torrent.

Skill level:
Moderately Easy

Other People Are Reading

Things you need

  • PC with an Internet connection
  • uTorrent client

Show MoreHide

Instructions

    Restricting Upload of Files via Bandwidth Allocation

  1. 1

    Open the uTorrent client.

  2. 2

    Click “Options,” located along the top menu bar. A drop-down menu appears. Select “Preferences.” You can also press “Ctrl+P” to automatically open the preferences window.

  3. 3

    Click “Bandwidth” in the left-pane of the preferences window.

  4. 4

    Under “Global Upload Rate Limiting” set the option to “1.” Do not leave this at “0”, which is the default, as setting this option to “0” allows unlimited upload rates.

  5. 5

    Click “OK” at the bottom of the preferences window. Your unlimited upload is not disabled and the upload speed is severely restricted, in turn restricting the seeding of files via uTorrent.

    Disabling Upload via Torrent Deletion

  1. 1

    Open the uTorrent client.

  2. 2

    In the left-pane of the main window select “All,” which displays in the upper-right pane all of the available torrents for upload and seeding to other peers.

  3. 3

    In the right window pane, right-click a torrent file. The context menu will appear.

  4. 4

    Place your mouse cursor over “Remove And.” A sub menu appears with various deletion options. Click “Delete .torrent.” A confirmation window appears asking if you are sure you want to remove the torrent. Click “Yes” to disable the upload of that file in uTorrent.

Tips and warnings

  • Deleting a torrent file does not delete associated data downloaded through the BitTorrent client. It is always safe and recommended to delete any torrent after file download is complete, as long you no longer want to upload the data across the network.
  • Uploading is required to download on any torrent network. Therefore, if you restrict your upload rates, your download rates may also be restricted by shared peers. As a result, the only real way to disable uploading is to delete torrents after download.
  • Ensure you have the rights to the original data file or that it is not protected under copyright laws when downloading a shared file on the BitTorrent network. Downloading material covered under copyright laws is a crime.
  • If you choose to remove the torrent to fully disable the upload of the torrent’s associated file, be careful that you do not select “Delete .torrent + Data,” as that option deletes the torrent as well as the associated data file.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.