How to Transfer Norton to a New Computer Without a Disk

Written by jackson lewis
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

Norton Antivirus is one of the most widely installed computer security applications on the U.S. market. Similar to other major commercial security applications, Symantec permits the transfer of a validly licensed Norton product to a new computer without a disk. To transfer Norton to a new computer, you will need to have the license code for the product that was either e-mailed to you after purchasing the software through the Symantec online store or contained in the packaging of the product purchased at a consumer electronics store.

Skill level:
Moderately Easy

Other People Are Reading


  1. 1

    Remove Norton from the computer that currently has Norton installed. Select the "Start," "Settings" and "Control Panel" menu options from the computer's desktop. Select the "Uninstall a Program" menu option and click the "Remove" button listed underneath the Norton product icon on the listing of programs installed on your computer and follow the default menu options to remove the software.

  2. 2

    Transfer the Norton installation file to a networked drive or portable storage media such as a memory stick by right clicking the installation file, followed by the "Send To" menu button and select the drive destination.

  3. 3

    Insert the memory stick into the USB port on the new computer and double-click the Norton installation file. Alternatively, double-click the program installer located on a network drive, if you chose that option, to make the installation file available on the new computer.

  4. 4

    Enter your Symantec account e-mail address and password when prompted during the program installation on the new computer. The Norton account will be the same one that you created when initially installing the Norton product on the original computer.

  5. 5

    Open the Norton Control Panel by double-clicking the Norton icon in the computer's system tray. Select the "Live Update" menu option to force the software to update to the current version. During the update, your Norton registration, subscription and account verification will be transferred to the new computer.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.