How to Erase Skype Memory

Written by pierce smith
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Erase Skype Memory
Skype tracks all user correspondence by default. (data security image by dinostock from Fotolia.com)

Skype logs all instant message chats, calls and file transfers automatically. Correspondence history can be useful, but risky, data to have on a computer. Any individual with access to that computer will have access to the Skype history. There is no password protection for history files created by the program. Skype users who connect to the Internet via an unsecured wireless network face an elevated risk. For security purposes, Skype has a feature to purge correspondence history.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    Launch Skype. Go to the "Tools" button on the tab.

  2. 2

    Select the "Privacy Settings" tab on the left side of the "Tools" window.

  3. 3

    Click "Clear History" on the right side of the screen. Confirm history deletion in the confirmation box that appears.

Tips and warnings

  • Select "No History" from the drop down menu next to the "Clear History" button to prevent Skype from storing correspondence history.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.