How to Exit iPhone Recovery Mode

Written by matt mcgew
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

Recovery mode on the iPhone is used to restore the device. It is possible to manually enter the recovery mode. You may want to enter the recovery mode if your iPhone continually restarts but never displays the Home screen, an update or restore did not complete and the iPhone is no longer recognised by iTunes, or if the iPhone has frozen or quit responding. It is also possible for the iPhone to automatically enter recovery mode. The iPhone may go into recovery mode automatically if the device receives an error during an update or system restore. Once your iPhone has entered the recovery mode, you need to manually restore the device.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Things you need

  • iPhone data cable

Show MoreHide

Instructions

  1. 1

    Attach the iPhone data cable to the bottom of your iPhone device, and then attach the other end of the iPhone data cable to an available USB port on your computer.

  2. 2

    Open the iTunes program on your computer. Wait for a box to prompt you that "iTunes has detected an iPhone in recovery mode." Click "OK." This takes you to the iPhone pane in iTunes.

  3. 3

    Click "Restore." Wait for iTunes to restore your iPhone device. It can take up to 30 minutes for iTunes to restore your iPhone. You are prompted when the system restore is complete and it is safe to disconnect the data cable from your iPhone.

Tips and warnings

  • To manually enter the recovery mode, turn your iPhone off by holding the power button at the top of your iPhone for approximately five seconds. Slide your finger across the iPhone's screen as instructed. Attach the iPhone data cable to the bottom of the iPhone. Attach the other end of the data cable to an available USB port on your computer. Hold down the "Home" button on your iPhone and open iTunes while continuing to hold down the "Home" button. Wait for your iPhone's screen to display a picture of the iPhone data cable pointing to an iTunes icon. When you see this on your iPhone's screen, your iPhone has entered the recovery mode.
  • Do not disconnect or try to use your iPhone or your iTunes software while iTunes is restoring your iPhone.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.