How to Tell If Yahoo Messenger Friends Blocked You

Written by steve gregory Google
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to Tell If Yahoo Messenger Friends Blocked You
Find out if you were blocked by a friend on Yahoo! Messenger. (Boy relaxing on sofa in livingroom using laptop for Internet image by kuhar from

Yahoo! Messenger is an instant-messaging client that is a direct competitor to MSN Messenger and AOL Instant Messenger. Like the other instant messenger services, it allows you to instantly send and receive messages via a chat window. Yahoo! messenger offers several different configuration options, including the option to block other users from messaging you or knowing your online status. If you have a friend whose status is always offline, there are ways to tell if your friend is blocking you or is indeed offline.

Skill level:

Other People Are Reading


  1. 1

    Sign up for a new Yahoo! Messenger account. Open the Yahoo! Messenger application on your computer. Instead of signing in, click "Get a new Yahoo! ID."

  2. 2

    Follow the instructions to complete the new account profile. Enter a new account name, password and personal information as part of the sign-up process.

  3. 3

    Log in to the new account and add your friend to the friends list. Click "Contacts" at the top of the window and select "Add a contact" from the drop-down list. Type in your friend's Yahoo! ID and click "Next." Select a group to place the new contact and click "Next" to finish. Once your friend accepts the invitation, his status appears. If he appears online under the new account but offline in your old account, your friend is blocking you.

  4. 4

    Message your friend even if his status says "offline." If your friend has blocked you, the response message says "This person cannot receive offline messages." If your friend is just offline but has not blocked you, the response message would say "(your friend's name) is offline and can't receive messages right now."

Tips and warnings

  • There is always a chance that your friend may have incorrectly configured the options on his account and has blocked you by accident.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.