There may come a time when you need to reset your Ricoh copier back to its original factory settings. This can be caused by network changes, moving a copier to a new location, adding new accessories, or accidentally making a certain setting a default setting. Fortunately, the process to reset back to factory defaults can be accomplished in a few steps. It is important to note that while most Ricoh's are similar, some may require slightly different steps or may not have different buttons than other models. Reading your owners manual can provide assistance in these cases.
- Skill level:
Back up address books stored in the Ricoh copier settings that you may need. Using your owner's manual, follow the process to back up any information that you do not want to lose. Resetting to factory defaults will erase all stored data.
Press the "./*" key and the "#" key on the Ricoh copier at the same time and hold for 10 seconds. Nothing will seem to happen until you hold both buttons down for the full 10 seconds. Once 10 seconds is reached, the copier will shut down and begin to reboot. During this process, the Ricoh is resetting itself to factory default settings.
Test to make sure the process worked. By going through the menu options on the screen, you should notice that your old settings have been replaced and your address books have been cleared. If this is the case, your Ricoh copier has been reset to factory defaults. If not, check your owner's manual as the process for some Ricoh's may differ from this process.
- 20 of the funniest online reviews ever
- 14 Biggest lies people tell in online dating sites
- Hilarious things Google thinks you're trying to search for