When you delete files from your computer, they are stored in a location called the Recycle Bin. The Recycle Bin acts as a temporary storage for files so that you can restore them to their original location if you change your mind about deleting them permanently. However, if you have no intention of restoring certain files, you can delete them permanently from your computer and free up system resources such as hard disk space and memory.
- Skill level:
Other People Are Reading
Locate the Recycle Bin icon on the desktop and right-click it. The icon looks like a dustbin. Right-click the "Recycle Bin" and click "Empty Recycle Bin" to permanently delete all files from the Recycle Bin without opening it. If you do not see the icon on the desktop, click the Windows "Start" button and locate it in the pop-up window or conduct a search.
Double-click the Recycle Bin icon on the desktop or the Start menu if you want to remove specific items without clearing the entire Recycle Bin. You should see a list of the files you deleted. Scroll through the list and click the file that you want to delete permanently. Press "Delete" to get rid of the file permanently.
Alternatively, you can permanently delete all the files in the Recycle Bin while it is open. To do so, click the "Empty the Recycle Bin" button on the toolbar if you are using Windows Vista or 7. For Windows XP users, click the "File" menu located inside the Recycle Bin and click "Empty Recycle Bin."
- 20 of the funniest online reviews ever
- 14 Biggest lies people tell in online dating sites
- Hilarious things Google thinks you're trying to search for