How to Close an eBay Account

Written by ehow internet editor
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

If you do not want to use your eBay account any longer, you may close the account permanently through eBay. Once your account is closed, eBay indicates you may not reopen it. It may take up to 6 months to officially close your account from the date you first request closure.

Skill level:
Moderately Easy

Other People Are Reading

Instructions

  1. 1

    End all your auctions. If you are a seller on eBay, you may request to close your account at any time. However, eBay will not close your account until 180 days after the close of your last auction.

  2. 2

    Submit an official request form to close your eBay account. A link to the form is listed in the Resources section. Fill out the form completely and submit the form.

  3. 3

    Change your user ID if the user ID you use for your eBay account is the same as your personal email address. Once you have closed your account, you may no longer change your user ID and your email address will permanently be listed on feedback you left for others.

  4. 4

    Receive the closure letter from eBay at the time your account is officially closed. Once you receive this letter, you may not access your account any longer or make any changes to your account.

  5. 5

    Pay any fees you have outstanding with eBay. When you close your account, you won't hear from eBay ever again except if you owe them money. Close out your account successfully by paying all your fees.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.