How to deactivate your Facebook account

Written by ehow contributor
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
How to deactivate your Facebook account
Deactivate Your Facebook Account

There may come a time when you need to deactivate your Facebook account. Fortunately, as with most of the social utility Web sites, closing your account with Facebook is easy. And if you change you mind, you can always return to Facebook with a simple reactivation process.

Skill level:
Easy

Other People Are Reading

Things you need

  • Facebook account
  • Computer with Internet access
  • Valid email

Show MoreHide

Instructions

  1. 1

    Access the Facebook home page and log in using the email address and password you originally registered with (see Resources below). If you've forgotten you password, click on "Log in" and follow the link to reset your password.

  2. 2

    Head to the "My Account" page using the link from the menu.

  3. 3

    Follow the "Click Here" link under the Deactivate Account section. You will be taken to a short form to fill out before you close your account.

  4. 4

    Tell Facebook why you're leaving. Select the radio button next to the reason for deactivating your account. There is also space to write other comments.

  5. 5

    Opt in or out of Facebook emails. Even if you account is deactivated, your friends can still invite you to events or ask you to join groups. If you don't want any email from Facebook at all, check the appropriate box.

  6. 6

    Click the "Deactivate" button. You will be taken to a page confirming your account deactivation.

  1. 1

    Head to the Facebook Web site to reactivate your account.

  2. 2

    Log in to Facebook as if you'd never left. Use your original email address and password.

  3. 3

    Check your registered email account for a confirmation email from Facebook with directions on how to reactivate your account.

  4. 4

    Follow the link in the email. You will be taken to your home page, which will appear exactly how you left it. All your settings and events are intact upon reactivation. All you have to do is start exploring again.

Tips and warnings

  • Many people deactivate their Facebook accounts because of the drama online profiles can cause. Remember that you can always edit your privacy setting, block users and create limited profiles to avoid these issues.
  • If you are unsure whether you want to completely erase your account, visit the Facebook Help section for privacy options before you deactivate your account (see Resources below).
  • Many people deactivate their Facebook accounts because of the drama online profiles can cause. Remember that you can always edit your privacy setting, block users and create limited profiles to avoid these issues.
  • If you are unsure whether you want to completely erase your account, visit the Facebook Help section for privacy options before you deactivate your account (see Resources below).
  • If you plan to reactivate an account that has been broken into or hacked, be sure to change you password. Choose something with both letters and numbers that is not easy to guess.
  • If you plan to reactivate an account that has been broken into or hacked, be sure to change you password. Choose something with both letters and numbers that is not easy to guess.

Don't Miss

Filter:
  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
Sort:
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.