Government Guidelines for Healthy Eating in Children

Written by sally nash
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Pin
  • Email
Government Guidelines for Healthy Eating in Children
The government recommends that children cut down on fried and fatty foods. (a burger image by timur1970 from

The government recommends that children should eat a range of foods, including grains, vegetables, fruit, milk, meat and beans. Parents should make sure that children eat low-fat dairy products and meat and restrict their sugar and solid fat intake.

Other People Are Reading


The U.S. Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Science spells out its recommendations in the "My Pyramid" program. Parents should try to make sure that children eat 170gr. of grains each day (preferably whole grain cereal and whole wheat bread); a range of vegetables (2 1/2 cups a day); 1 1/2 cups of fruit a day; three cups of milk (low fat or fat-free) a day (two cups for children ages 2 to 8) and 142gr. a day of lean meat or fish. Nuts and seeds are also good choices.


Parents should choose healthy cooking methods like baking, broiling or grilling and avoid fried food.


Eating well is a step in the right direction towards a healthy life, but the government also believes that children should exercise more. It suggests around 60 minutes of activity every day on most days, but this can include fun activities such as dance or rollerblading.

Don't Miss

  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.