Wasps Life Cycle

Written by natasha puryear
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Email

There are three stages to the wasp life cycle: egg, larva and adulthood. The life cycle starts with a queen who has hibernated for the winter. The queen will begin building her nest in the early spring. After the first group of eggs has become adults, the workers will then build the nest.


The queen wasp lays eggs into the cells of the nest. Each egg will have its own cell.


When the eggs hatch, they are legless grubs. In the early spring, the queen will care for the larva, and after the first group of larva has become adults, these workers will then care for the new larva.


After the larva mature into adults, the adults become workers for the nest. A nest in late summer will have between 20 and 30 adult wasps. At the end of the summer, new queens and males will reach adulthood.


At the end of the summer the queen quits laying eggs, and the nest is left to deteriorate. The new queens and males will mate, and the new queens will go off to find somewhere to hibernate for the winter. The rest of the nest will die.


During the end stage of a wasp's life is when humans are more susceptible to being stung.

Don't Miss


  • All types
  • Articles
  • Slideshows
  • Videos
  • Most relevant
  • Most popular
  • Most recent

No articles available

No slideshows available

No videos available

By using the eHow.co.uk site, you consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie policy.